Maritime Regulatory Bodies



On completion of the training program, the student will be awarded:

→ A Certificate of Maritime Regulatory Bodies, issued by Bureau Veritas Solutions Marine & Offshore.

The Certificate of Maritime Regulatory Bodies, is obtained after completing the course and passing the online test.


This training course provides a general introduction to the most important maritime regulatory bodies: the International Maritime Organisation (IMO), the International Association of Classification Societies (IACS) and the European Maritime Safety Agency (EMSA).


Whom the course is for

The course Maritime Regulatory Bodies is aimed at anyone interested in getting familiar with the organisation and work process of the most active maritime regulatory bodies, IMO, IACS and EMSA. This may include Ship Managers, Technical Superintendents, Ship Masters, Officers and Seafarers; Shipyards Technical Staff; Surveyors; P&I and/or Insurance Inspectors; Naval Architects; Etc.


On completion of the training, students will be able to:

  • Understand the mission and structure of IMO, know the IMO requirements and the main International Conventions, and understand the process of acceptance, adoption and implementation of International Conventions.
  • Know the history of IACS and its mission, understand the IACS organization and the role of each entity, and know the main types of documents issued by IACS and how they are implemented.
  • Understand the European context, the role of the European Maritime Safety Agency (EMSA), and know the key points of the EU Regulation on common standards for ship inspection and survey organisations.

Course Contents

Module 1 – IMO

  • IMO mission
  • IMO History
  • IMO Organisation
    • Assembly and Council
    • Maritime Safety Committee (MSC)
    • Maritime Environment Protection Committee (MEPC)
    • Other Committees
    • Sub-Committees
    • Secretary-General
  • IMO Regulations
    • Maritime Safety
    • Prevention of Maritime Pollution
    • Liability and Compensation
    • Other Conventions
    • IMO Codes
    • Guidelines and Recommendations
  • Implementation of IMO Regulations
    • Development process
    • Amendment process, positive acceptance and tacit acceptance
    • Implementation process
  • IMO Technical Assistance

Module 2 – IACS

  • IACS History
  • IACS membership evolution and current members
  • Membership criteria
    • Application
    • Member’s rights
    • Member’s obligations
    • Membership beginning and ending
  • The mission of Classification Societies and what Classification Societies do not do
  • IACS aims
  • IACS values – Leadership, technical knowledge, quality performance, transparency
  • IACS Organisation
    • The Council
    • General Policy Group (GPG)
    • Quality Committee
    • Permanent Secretariat and Secretary-General
    • Permanent representative to IMO
  • Work programme and work process
  • IACS Panels
  • IACS main documents
    • Governing documents: IACS Charter and IACS Procedures
    • Technical documents
      • Unified Requirements (UR)
      • Common Structural Rules (CSR)
      • Unified Interpretations (UI)
      • Procedural Requirements (PR)
      • Recommendations

Module 3 – EMSA

  • The European context
    • European Union (EU)
    • The EU regulatory process
    • Directive 94/57/EC
    • Third Maritime Safety Package
      • Flag States
      • Port State Control
      • Vessel Traffic Monitoring
      • Casualty Investigation
  • EMSA purpose and mission
  • EMSA structure
  • Regulation (EC) No 391/2009
    • Purpose
    • Recognition of the Organisations
    • Corrective actions, sanctions and withdrawal of recognition
    • Performance criteria and assessment by the Commission
    • RO’s obligations
    • Mutual Recognition
    • Quality assessment certification entity